Galkoff`s was built around 1820, originally as a dwelling house then later became a Hardware shop then a furniture shop before becoming a kosher butcher's in 1907. The property was originally situated in the middle of a Georgian terrace consisting of five three storey houses ( No`s 25 to 33 ) were built during the same period. Number 37 and 41 Pembroke Place are the two ends of Watkins Terrace the last remaining court dwelling in the city.
Number 29 became a kosher butchers in 1907 when Percy Galkoff`s purchased a 75 year lease on the property and transferring his first business from smaller premises in nearby 66 Brownlow Hill to the thriving and growing Jewish émigré community in the London Rd area. The property was leased by the Percy Galkoff until sold to Liverpool City Council in 1979.
The property changed hands, until the present owners and purchased 29 Pembroke Place in 1990 with the intention of refurbishing the property and bring the building back into use as a small business with living accommodation above the retail area. After being granted planning permission, negotiations began for the removal of a covenant restricting the property's use to residential only. The building work began in 1991, but the London Road area became a regeneration initiative zone and discussions concerning the removal of the covenant passed to the London Road Development Agency. The matter was only resolved in 1995. Further delays awaiting the consideration of other proposals for the terrace and many other problems, compounded by the demolition of 25 and 27 in 1994, contributed to the postponement of the propertiy`s development. An apartment block now stands on the site of 25 and 27 Pembroke Place.
Following the sudden demolition of 25 and 27 the restrictive covenant was removed. Planning permission was again granted in 1995 for 29 PP as the previous planning approvals had lapsed waiting for the development agency to decide the fate of number 31. As restoration works on Galkoff`s was about to recommence in 1995 the LRDA gave notification of their proposed demolition of 31 Pembroke Place that is Galkoff`s sole structural support since the demolition 25 and 27 Pembroke Place. This resulted in works stopping for a third occasion, until the proposed demolition of the building was resolved. The city council's Property Services Department intervened and prevent the development agency from carrying out the demolition.
October 2003 new refurbishment proposals for 29 and 31 Pembroke Place had been offered but an planning assessment on the Daulby triangle site was later conducted delaying matters.
December 2004 the properties were inspected by Liverpool's conservation officer and the remaining properties 29 to 41 Pembroke Place identified as Georgian, built around 1820.
December 2004 Galkoff`s was referred to English Heritage for consideration of statutory listing.
April 2007 the property was Grade II listed by the Dept MC&S with the support, co-operation and assitance of Liverpool`s Conservetion Team, English Heritage (North West) and many Merseyside heritage and history socities/groups